Dinners – week 2

I’m in full comfort mode right now….still in my jammies, sipping a steaming mug of my favorite Teavana tea, jamming out to the new Taylor Swift album (I just love her!?!?) while playing indoor fetch with the dog and meal planning for the week. Here’s what I decided:

Sunday: Taco lettuce wraps.

Tacos are a staple in our house. Our family could eat tacos every day I think. So when we started Whole30 I knew I would have to come up with a solution to get our taco fix without the shells. Enter romaine lettuce leaves. Still provides that crunchy texture that we love with tacos and serves as a vehicle to scarf down all that yummy taco meat and toppings. Wasn’t sure how my kids would react to eating lettuce instead of the processed goodness of a store bought crunchy taco shell….but they only balked for a moment and once they tried it, they loved it. I buy whatever ground meat is on sale (chicken, beef or turkey). I also prefer to make my own taco seasoning and use that instead of the prepackaged stuff. I use this recipe and make a huge batch. We are pretty basic with toppings but love the Wholly Guacamole (in place of sour cream) and black olives. When not on Whole30, we add a little cheese. Definitely a family favorite.

Monday: Crispy Coconut Chicken Dippers, savory shredded sweet potatoes and steamed fresh green beans. 

For the sweet potatoes, I get kid #1 to peel them because she actually enjoys it…then I shred them in the food processor with the shredding blade. Toss them in a preheated pan with some coconut oil and add a hefty sprinkle of onion powder, cinnamon, and salt and pepper. Sautee and cook down until soft. We eat these all the time. For breakfast, lunch or dinner. I usually buy a huge bag and she peels them all at once and then I freeze containers of shredded sweet potatoes for later use. I love these containers in a variety of sizes to freeze things and these freezer labels.

Tuesday: Pernil in the crockpot with Cilantro Lime Cauliflower “rice”

This whole meal is a family favorite. SO easy and soooooo delicious. I’m never disappointed with a Skinnytaste recipe. I just love her blog because she cooks with real food and lots of flavor. When not doing a Whole30, the real rice version is equally amazing and tastes just like Chipotle’s rice.

Wedneday: Slow Cooker Tikka Masala and roasted broccoli

This recipe calls for chicken thighs but the texture of thighs is too slimy or something for me. I prefer chicken breast. Also, to keep Whole30 compliant, use full-fat coconut milk in place of the heavy cream (always use canned coconut milk…not in the carton).

Thursday: Salisbury Steak Burgers with Mushroom Gravy and Whipped Cauliflower

For the cauliflower, I just chop it in big chunks. Boil it with some garlic cloves until soft. Drain it well and put it back in the hot pot. Add a splash of coconut milk, a tablespoon of grass fed butter (you can find at regular grocery…ours is not with the regular butter, it’s with the fancy cheeses in the produce/deli area!?) and then whip with a hand blender until smooth. Season with salt and pepper. Easy peasy substitute for mashed potatoes.

So, there ya have it. That’s what’s cooking this week. What are you planning to make?

UPDATE:

The only recipe in this list that was new for us was the Salisbury steak burgers and let me just say that these were a huge hit! Will definitely be making these again. The rest of the recipes I have made before and already knew my family would like them.

2 thoughts on “Dinners – week 2

  1. esther February 3, 2015 / 5:43 pm

    your menu sounds fabulous! questions: do you freeze your shredded sweet potatoes uncooked?

    Like

    • Nichole Rhodes February 3, 2015 / 7:55 pm

      I have both. Uncooked for when I have more time or need them for a recipe. Cooked for a quick reheat for lunches. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

