Meal Planning in a Pinch

Our family had a crazy weekend this weekend and this meant meal planning was placed on the back burner until about 5 seconds ago. Now, it’s 7:00 p.m. on Sunday night, we just got home from being out of town for a sports tournament, and in place of meal planning, I’d rather take a bubble bath and go to bed early. But come dinner time tomorrow, I’ll be kicking myself for no plans….so, I’m scrambling. Normally, this would be a week where I’d do all “staple” dinners because then I don’t have to think about them…you know the ones. Tried and true and you can never go wrong because you’re whole family loves them. But I’m trying to stick with branching out. So this week, to make it a little easier, I’m going with all recipes from paleOMG – either her cookbook or her blog (both are amazing). I’m not even sure what order we’ll eat these in, but this is what I’m thinking:

Monday: Pumpkin Cashew Chicken Coconut Curry over Coconut Rice

I have no idea if anyone in my house will eat this. I don’t even know if I like curry. But we’re on a food adventure….and how are we going to know if we like it if we don’t try. So let’s do it.

Tuesday: Savory Sweet Potato Meatloaf with Bacon Brussels Sprouts

These are both new recipes for us but any meatloaf that gets topped with bacon is probably ok in my book. The Brussels sprouts are very similar to a recipe I used last week that we all loved (thanks for sharing, Kyle!) so I doubt the addition of pecans is going to change that. And again, put bacon on it….we’re probably ok with eating it.

Wednesday: Thai Pork and Veggie Meatballs

Another fairly safe bet. Usually can’t go wrong with meatballs. Who doesn’t like meatballs?!?

Thursday: Balsamic Poached Fig Stuffed Pork with savory sweet potatoes and roasted broccoli

This pork sounds awesome. I’m crossing my fingers that it tastes as good as it looks because I can definitely see this one becoming a regular in the dinner rotation. I still have some shredded sweet potatoes in the freezer and some broccoli in the crisper so that will round it all out nicely I think.

Friday: Date and Shallot Rosemary Chicken with fresh green beans

This looks like a fairly simple meal for the end of the week. And I love rosemary. And dates. And shallots. Oh Yum! This might have just gotten bumped to Monday. Not sure I can wait till Friday.

Ok, there you have it. All meals planned and blogged in 30 minutes. Now for that bubble bath and some comfy jammies.

UPDATE:

Monday’s chicken curry was awesome! Will definitely be making this again. I cut the cayenne in half and it was still plenty spicy! For the coconut rice, I ended up using quite a bit more coconut milk than it called for. I also added an extra 1/4 of the unsweetened coconut that I dry-toasted in a pan first. So good!!

Tuesday’s meatloaf and Brussels were amazing. The meatloaf recipe makes two or three loaves so we had leftovers for lunches! Score! And I got reprimanded for not making a double batch of sprouts. Apparently those are now the #1 veggie in our house.

Wednesday’s pork and veggie meatballs….were kind of a bust. But only sort of. The flavor of these is unbelievably delicious. The problem came in the texture of the meatballs – so mushy! I’m sure it was something I did wrong….like mixing to much or maybe I used too many veggies? I don’t know. I will definitely be tweaking this one to see if I can fix it because we really loved the flavor.

Thursday’s pork was good, but not great. I might try it again. While it was delicious, we weren’t blown away. I might try this in the crockpot next time?

Friday….my family was not happy that I was sticking to the menu instead of going out on Friday night. They groaned and made faces when I said I was making chicken. After a long week of work, they are lucky I was not holding a frying pan or there might have been injuries. I actually got an apology during dinner though because OMG. This chicken is SOOOOOOOOO good. Like ridiculously good. I ended up making steamed broccoli and roasted potatoes with it. I hid the leftovers in the back of the fridge so I can eat them in hiding later….

2 thoughts on “Meal Planning in a Pinch

  1. Jen January 20, 2015 / 8:21 pm

    Loving this blog! Will try many of the recipes on here — keep posting! Oh — Thanks for the tip on make-your-own taco seasoning…. I had one that I didn’t love and will give that one a try 🙂

    Like

    • Nichole Rhodes January 20, 2015 / 8:40 pm

      Thanks Jen! In my latest batch of that taco seasoning, I was a little heavy handed with the red pepper flakes….be careful! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

