You know you’re an adult when…

This past week I got a couple of new cookbooks and I’m super psyched about them! You know you are officially an adult when you get all geeked out over new cookbooks. That’s sad! While I do love the convenience of online recipes, there’s nothing like flipping through an actual cookbook! I spent more than 45 glorious minutes ALONE in the cooking section at Barnes & Noble drooling over all of the beautiful cookbooks. I’m pretty sure I looked at every single paleo cookbook they had. More than once. Two of them I bought on the spot and a third I ordered from Amazon because it was significantly cheaper. Actually, they were all cheaper on Amazon but I like to support B&N so that I always have a place to buy books when I’m too impatient to wait for Amazon. Which is most of the time.

So….the cookbooks. Two of them are more broad spectrum paleo cookbooks and one is specifically devoted to paleo baking. BAKING! I know, right? I love baked goods in all forms and it’s been one of the hardest things to give up on Whole30. Technically, it’s against plan rules and considered SWYPO to make paleo-fied baked goods. (Click link for definition of SWYPO…this is a family blog! 😉 But have you met me? There’s zippy chance I’m giving up baked goods forever. But I also recognize that I feel a lot better when not eating them so I’m excited to try some of my favorite gluten-y treats, minus the gluten.  I’m currently earmarking all the delicious looking recipes for post-Whole30 experimenting. Who am I kidding –  I’ve marked the entire cookbook.

The other two cookbooks I got are covered in sticky notes and magnetic page markers already too. I can’t wait to try some of the recipes and hopefully remember to share them here. So, here are the ones I got:

Paleo Kitchen: Finding Primal Joy in Modern Cooking

This one is by the same awesome chick, Juli Bauer, that wrote OMG, That’s Paleo? (another of my favorites) and who writes the PaleOMG blog. I love her recipes!! I specifically went to B&N looking for this one. I danced a happy dance that they had one left in stock.

Paleo Eats: 111 Comforting Gluten-Free, Grain-Free and Dairy-Free Recipes for the Foodie in You

This one is by Kelly Bejelly and I had never heard of her before stumbling upon it at Barnes & Noble. Once I cracked it open, I couldn’t put it back on the shelf. Too many good things to try! She also has a blog called A Girl Worth Saving that looks awesome too. Super excited to discover her and try out all these delicious looking recipes!

Every Last Crumb: Paleo Bread and Beyond

This one is by Brittney Angell and is absolutely beautiful. Although, the pages are probably now all covered in drool because thumbing through them had me craving carby carbs with a side of carbs like nobody’s business. Bread? Cinnamon Rolls? Donuts!? Oh my. She not-so-shockingly also has a self-titled blog that looks amazing. Score! Jackpot! Winner Winner, donuts for dinner!

Not only do I love reading through the cookbooks (repeatedly!), I love that my kids are both excited about them too! Kid #1 and I have spent every night this week flipping through and picking out our favorite looking recipes to try. Let’s just say there are a LOT of bookmarks. I love sharing a love for cooking and delicious healthy foods with my kids. Cooking is much more fun with company and I can’t think of anyone else I’d rather have as my kitchen helpers. I wonder which recipes we will try first?

2 thoughts on “You know you’re an adult when…

  1. Amy January 23, 2015 / 3:05 am

    I really enjoy your writings & sharing the recipes. Please keep it up & please share the baking recipes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

