Lazy Saturday Morning

I love those weekends where you wake up on Saturday morning with absolutely nothing on the agenda for the day. No setting an alarm (in my book it is just wrong to have to set an alarm on the weekend!) No rushing off to this sporting event or that activity. No running around like a crazy chicken with no head. Just a relaxing morning to do whatever you want. The possibilities seem endless. Read a book? Sure. Play a game with the kids? Why not! Stay in your jammies till noon and watch a movie? Sounds like a plan! We haven’t had one of those in a while and this morning I am relishing every minute of it. Eventually, I’ll have to be a grown up and clean the house and run errands but for this morning, that stuff can wait.

Last night, kid #1 wanted to bake something while I was making that chicken (go make that, it’s amazing!) so she grabbed the OMG, That’s Paleo? cookbook and found a recipe for blueberry muffins that she wanted to make. She did the whole thing herself and I couldn’t be more proud. She ended up putting this in a loaf pan instead of muffin tins and cooked it for a lot longer than called for. Not sure how long but at least 30 minutes, maybe 45? Just watch it. The result? Amazing – way to go, kid #1!

I’m still all amped up over my new cookbooks so I’m choosing to stay in my jammies, brew up a pot of chai tea, and lose myself in some recipes for a while. I can hear the kids playing nicely together and when that’s happening, momma don’t interrupt!  I wonder if take my cookbooks and a flashlight and go hide in the closet if I could get a few extra minutes of quiet me time. 😉

Leave a Reply

