What’s for breakfast?!

I just love snow days! While we didn’t get the ginormous amounts of snow like they did up north, we got just enough for the kids to have a day off school to build snowmen and go sledding. That’s the perfect amount in my book! It also meant I got to telecommute in my PJs and cook myself a real breakfast. A super simple favorite – skillet breakfast. Easy peasy and oh so yummy. I think I’ve mentioned before that kid #1 is obsessed with peeling sweet potatoes. For that reason, I take full advantage and always have a stock of pre-shredded sweet potatoes in the freezer. This makes this skillet breakfast super fast. My favorite kind of meal.

Ingredients:

3-4 slices of no sugar added bacon (it’s tough to find, but Whole Foods carries it….you only have to give them you first born child to get it! Ha! Kidding! Sorry Whole Foods, I love you, please don’t ban me!)

2 eggs, whisked

A couple of large handfuls of shredded sweet potatoes (probably equals one enormous sweet potato or two small ones)

onion powder

cinnamon

salt and pepper

Using kitchen shears, I cut the bacon into little pieces. Doesn’t matter the size. They all taste the same.  Fry in frying pan until crisp. Remove the bacon pieces and set aside. With the oil in the pan, toss in the sweet potato shreds and sprinkle very heavily with onion powder and cinnamon. You could use real onion here but I’m too lazy and the thing I like most about this dish is that it comes together so fast. So, I cheat and use onion powder. Cook the sweet potatoes until soft, stirring often. Sometimes, I add a splash of water to the hot pan to keep the potatoes from sticking and help steam them and cook them faster.  This takes maybe 5 minutes? When they are close to being soft, push all of the potatoes to the edges and make a crater to put the eggs in. Scramble the eggs and pour them in the center of the potatoes. Stir and cook. When they are mostly done, mix the potatoes into the eggs and add the bacon. Season with salt and pepper. Cook a minute or two more till the eggs are done. Scoop out a huge helping and try not to burn your mouth. Oh my yum! So delicious. This recipes makes two hefty helpings. And it’s really versatile. You could use regular potatoes, shredded parsnips, shredded carrots, etc. in place of the sweet potatoes. Sausage, ground pork/chicken/beef/turkey instead of bacon. I’ve even used leftover Pernil. Feel free to add in any veggies that you like….mushrooms, peppers, onions, garlic etc. Change up the spices to suit your taste buds. Your options are limitless.

Another regular in the breakfast rotation is breakfast cupcakes. Basically these are like mini omelettes in cupcake form. I use these silicone muffin cups….just put them on a baking sheet. Add whatever omelette fixings you like to each muffin cup. I keep it simple and usually just do cooked crumbled sausage because I know everyone will eat that. Occasionally I throw in some spinach that I’ve thrown in the mini food processor. Minced veggies = less likely that my kids can find them and pick them out. Use whatever you have! Season with whatever spices you like. Then whisk up a bunch of eggs and pour into each muffin cup to fill about 3/4 of the way. I generally estimate an egg per muffin cup and then maybe add an extra one for good measure. Then just bake them at 350 for about 20-25 minutes. These are great for breakfast on the go and freeze really well.

For those who prefer baked goods over eggs in the morning, we also LOVE this recipe for blueberry scones from Fed & Fit. They are made using cashew flour as the base. I buy my cashew flour at Trader Joe’s but you can make your own by putting cashews in the food processor. I’ve made this recipe a million different ways. You can use almond flour instead of the cashew or even mix half and half. And flavors are limitless. Blueberry, raspberry, triple berry, apple cinnamon pecan. Use your imagination! I’ve even done Maple Bacon Blueberry Pecan. Just throw in a handful of pecan chips, some crumbled cooked bacon and brush a little extra maple syrup on top before baking. My whole family goes nuts (Ha! See what I did there?) for these scones. I make a weekly batch and rarely do they last more than one day. I’ve even modified this recipe a tad to make breakfast “cookies”. Cookies for breakfast?! Best mom ever! (Except that’s not true, MY mom is the best mom ever. For real.)

So, those are some of the things we eat for “traditional” breakfast. Starting Paleo also got me thinking outside the breakfast box. There’s no law anywhere, as far as I know, that says you can only eat breakfast foods for breakfast. Want last night’s leftover beef stew? Go for it! You can bet your last dollar that that stew will keep you fuller longer than that coffee shop muffin.

I’ve picked out a couple of new breakfast recipes from my ever-growing pile of cookbooks that I am anxious to try. I will keep you posted on any winners. Got a favorite paleo breakfast? Share with me please??

Leave a Reply

