Almost there!

I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. Our Whole30 ends on Thursday. Praise the Lord. While a lot of the time seemed to fly by, I’ll be honest and say I’ve struggled the last few days. I feel like I need some chocolate and a slice of pizza. I originally said we were doing a Whole60.  But I’m dumb and should stop listening to myself. I need a couple of days off. And not totally for food related reasons. I mean, yes, I’m craving a hot fudge sundae and some pasta like crazy. And I know I will probably feel like a bucket of guts after I eat them because my stomach is going to be like “WHAT IS THIS CRAP?!?!” But also, mentally, I need a break from constant meal planning for a couple of days. When you’ve spent the majority of your life eating one way, trying to adjust to a new lifestyle and being the sole person responsible for making sure the herd gets fed is hard! My brain feels frizzled. So Friday, Saturday, Sunday? I’m taking a meal planning vacay and will get back on track on Monday. Let’s call it a mental reset. Does it mean I’m going to go buck wild and eat nothing but junk? Probably not. I’m sure some of my new habits have stuck. I know there will still be vegetables involved because I actually like them. But for 3 days I’m not going to worry about it. Excuses? Maybe. But my sanity is at stake here. And when mom’s stressed out? E’erbody watch out.

That being said, here’s our last week of Whole30 dinners for this round:

Monday – Mushroom Meatballs, Sage & Rosemary Sweet Potato Noodles, & Roasted Asparagus

The mushroom meatballs are from Make Ahead Paleo, one of my newest cookbooks. The sweet potato noodles are from The Paleo Kitchen. Here we go:

Meatball Ingredients:

1/2 lb. each ground pork and ground beef

1/2 cup diced yellow onion

1 clove garlic, minced

1 egg

3 Tbsp. arrowroot powder (divided)

3/4 tsp. sea salt

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1/4 tsp. allspice

2 Tbsp. coconut oil.

2 cups beef broth

2 cups sliced mushrooms

1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 bay leaf

2 cups coconut milk (canned)

Mix together the meats, onion, garlic, egg, 2 Tbsp. arrowroot, salt, pepper, and allspice. Shape into meatballs. Heat coconut oil in skillet and add meatballs to brown. Once browned, add to slow cooker. Add broth, mushrooms, bay leaf and Worcestershire sauce. Cook on low 4-5 hrs. Mix together coconut milk and arrowroot and add during last 45 minutes of cooking.

Sweet Potato Noodles:

3 sweet potatoes, peeled

2 Tbsp. coconut oil

1 Tbsp. each minced fresh rosemary and sage

1 tsp. each salt and pepper

Use a spiralizer (this one is the one I use) to cut the potatoes into ribbon noodles. Heat coconut oil over medium high heat. Add noodles and spices and cook 10-15 minutes until soft and lightly browned.

Roasted asparagus – I just toss it with olive oil, salt, pepper and roast at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes. Sometimes I add a squeeze of fresh lemon juice after it’s done.

Tuesday – Pesto Stuffed Prosciutto Chicken, roasted broccoli & a salad

This chicken recipe came out of the Against All Grain: Meals Made Simple cookbook. Another new one. I told you I have a cookbook obsession. I linked to the recipe on her blog because it’s VERY similar. Not exact but very close.

Wednesday – Chinese 5-spice Pork Ribs, zucchini and roasted fingerling potatoes

These ribs came from the Well Fed 2 cookbook and look delicious! For the potatoes, I will boil them the night before so that when I get home I will just toss them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, garlic powder and parsley and roast at 425 degrees until hot and crispy. I’m not sure how I’m cooking the zucchini yet but probably will cut large spears and roast pretty much the same way.

Thursday – Asian BBQ Chicken and Garlic Fried “Rice”

This is kid #1’s meal that she’s making this week. The chicken is from the Make Ahead Paleo cookbook and the fried rice is from Paleo Eats.

Chicken ingredients:

2 lbs. boneless chicken thighs

1/3 cup coconut aminos (similar to soy sauce, I found it at Whole Foods)

1/4 cup tomato sauce

1 Tbsp. tomato paste

2 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar

1 Tbsp. fish sauce

1/3 cup honey

2 tsp. sesame oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 shallot, minced

1 Tbsp. fresh minced ginger

Put chicken in slow cooker. Mix remaining ingredients and pour over chicken. Cook on low 6-8 hours.

Garlic Fried Rice:

1 head cauliflower, chopped

3 Tbsp. coconut oil

8 cloves garlic, minced

3/4 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. ground black pepper

3 eggs, whisked

Pulse cauliflower in food processor until resembles rice. In skillet, melt oil. Add garlic and saute for a couple minutes. Add cauliflower and spices. Cook 8-10 minutes, stirring occasionally until rice starts to brown. Push rice to the edges and add eggs in the middle. Scramble eggs and when cooked, mix into rice.

Friday: BBQ Beef Waffle Sandwich

This just looks ridiculous. A perfect Friday night meal. It’s from Well Fed 2. With recipes like this, I think she could be my new best friend. You’ll need 3 recipes below plus some coleslaw and dill pickles to assemble these sandwiches.

BBQ sauce:

1 cup water

6 oz. tomato paste

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/4 cup cider vinegar

2 Tbsp. coconut aminos

1 Tbsp. Dijon mustard

1 Tbsp. sunflower seed butter

1 tsp. hot sauce

1 date, pit removed

1 Tbsp. coconut oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp. chili powder

1/4 tsp each: dry mustard powder, cayenne, ground cinnamon, black pepper

pinch ground cloves

pinch ground allspice

Combine water, tomato paste, applesauce, vinegar, coconut aminos, mustard, sunflower seed butter, hot sauce and date in a food processor and puree until smooth. Heat oil in pan and add remaining ingredients. Cook for 30 seconds and add the mixture from the food processor. Bring to boil then simmer 20 minutes.

BBQ Beef:

1 Tbsp. paprika

1/4 Tbsp. garlic powder

1/2 Tbsp. salt

1 tsp. chili powder

1/4 tsp. dry mustard

2 lbs. beef stew meat

3 Tbsp. cider vinegar

1 Tbsp. coconut aminos

Mix spices together and massage into beef stew meat. Add to slow cooker. Add vinegar and coconut aminos. Cook on low 7 hours. Shred meat and place in saucepan with juice from slow cooker. Once simmering, add 1 cup BBQ sauce (recipe above). Cover and simmer. Cook waffles.

Sweet Potato Waffles:

2 large sweet potatoes, shredded

1 egg

1 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. cream of tartar

melted coconut oil

Preheat waffle iron. Wring water out of sweet potatoes using dish towel or cheesecloth. Mix dry potatoes in a large bowl with remaining ingredients. Brush waffle iron with oil. Add 1 cup of sweet potato mixture. Close and cook 10-15 minutes. Place in 200 degree oven, directly on rack, to keep warm while making the rest.

To assemble sandwiches, put BBQ beef on waffle, drizzle with more BBQ sauce, add your favorite coleslaw and sliced dill pickles. Top with a second “waffle”. YUM

Whew. THAT was a long one this week. Now, to go to the grocery store. I have a bad feeling that all of the last minute “I’m throwing a Super Bowl Party and need food” people are going to be there too. Blerg. I hate crowded grocery stores. I wish Whole Foods was open 24 hours…

UPDATE:

This might have been the best week yet. Whoa.

Monday: Meatballs, sweet potatoes and asparagus were all unbelievable. SO GOOD.

Tuesday: The pesto stuffed chicken cause me to get a “THIS IS THE BEST CHICKEN EVER MADE” text from The Hubs. I’d say a winner. It was amazing. And SO easy.

Wednesday: These ribs were OFF. THE. HOOK. Could not have been easier. My first time making ribs, ever. I’ve been converted. Whoa. MAKE THESE!

Thursday: This chicken was good. Not great. I think we’ve all decided that chicken breast in the crockpot is not the best. Gets too dry because we are gone too long, even though I have the programmable slow cooker. Flavor was good though! The fried rice was good too.

Friday: This BBQ beef was crazy good. And I love making waffles out of sweet potatoes!? How fun is that? We added sliced pickles to our sandwiches. Delicious.

Leave a Reply

