Slacking McSlacker

Oh geez. I’ve got a first class ticket on the Hot Mess Express this week. Sorry for being a big loser  but life got away from me and I didn’t have the energy for blogging this week. Now, the week is half over! Slack. Er. SORRY!

So, we finished Whole30 last week and took a few days off of the strict healthy eating. My mental health thanked me for it. I’m able to report that in those few days I ate some chocolate peanut butter cake that was borderline illegal thanks to my sister-in-law and consumed my weight in chips/cheese dip at our favorite Mexican restaurant. While both indulgences were amazing and quenched my brain’s need for junk, I admit I felt like a bucket of guts after both. The good news is that now I recognize it. Before I would have chalked it up to “oh, I ate toooooo muchhhh”. Now I know that it’s not just the quantity…it’s what I ate. So, Monday….back on track. Here’s the skinny for this week:

MONDAY: Roasted Tomato and Bacon Soup in the slow cooker

This is from the Make Ahead Paleo cookbook by Tammy Credicott. So far, I’m loving this cookbook and this soup did not disappoint. I’ve said it before. Bacon makes everything better. My whole family agrees. I’ve made three or four paleo tomato soups in the crockpot but this one is my favorite. Here’s how:

12 cups fresh tomatoes (I used about 15 fresh tomatoes on the vine), cut in half

olive oil

sea salt

10 slices uncooked bacon, chopped

2 medium yellow onions

2 cups chopped carrots

2 cups chopped celery

5 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups chicken stock

1 bay leaf

1 can coconut milk (recipe calls for one cup but I threw the whole can in)

Place tomatoes cut side down on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Roast at 450 degrees for 30 minutes. In the meantime, cook bacon in a skillet. Once done, remove bacon but leave grease in pan. Add carrots, onions, and celery and cook about 10 minutes. Add garlic and cook another minute or two. Add contents of skillet to slow cooker with tomatoes, stock, most of the bacon and bay leaf. Cook on low 6 hours. Discard bay leaf. Puree soup with immersion blender or in batches in a regular blender (careful!). Add coconut milk and mix well. Serve sprinkled with reserved bacon. SO GOOD. Reheats great for lunches. All four of us loved it and took leftovers for lunch on Tuesday.

TUESDAY: TACO NIGHT!

We love tacos in this house. The Hubs and both kids all voted to have Taco Tuesday this week. How could I say no to an easy go-to meal? We had romaine lettuce leaf boats filled with ground beef seasoned with homemade taco seasoning and topped with sliced black olives and the fresh guacamole from Whole Foods. I made 2.5 lbs. of ground beef. There were minimal leftovers. Obviously a family favorite.

WEDNESDAY: Shrimp Scampi with slow cooker spaghetti squash noodles

The Shrimp Scampi is from Well Fed 2 by Melissa Joulwan. Another favorite cookbook! The spaghetti squash is easy peasy. Wash it. Stab it with a knife a few times. Throw it in the slow cooker with a splash of water (1/2 cup?) and cook on low 8 hours. Slice in half, remove seeds/guts and then use a fork to fluff out the “noodles”. Here’s the shrimp:

1 lb. large shrimp, peeled and deveined (I left tails on)

4 tsps. olive oil

6 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes (calls for Aleppo pepper…I have no idea what that is?!)

1/2 tsp. Ghee

1/2 fresh lemon

salt

1/2 cup fresh parsley, minced (about 2 Tbsp.)

Heat oil in skillet on very low heat. Add garlic and pepper. Cook about 8 minutes. Add shrimp and cook until pink, 6-8 minutes. Add ghee and stir. Squeeze lemon over shrimp, add salt and parsley and stir.

THURSDAY: Pork Meatballs, Sweet Potato Wedges & Green Beans

The meatballs and sweet potato wedges are both from Paleo Slow Cooking. Kid #1 picked these out and is making them for us. They look delicious! Here’s how:

Meatballs:

2 lbs ground pork

1 apple, peeled, cored and grated

2 tsp. fresh sage, chopped fine

2 tsp. fresh thyme, chopped fine

2 large eggs, beaten

1/4 onion, minced

1 Tbsp. coconut oil

salt and pepper

(calls for 1 tsp. ground fennel seeds but I hate fennel so leaving it out)

Mix all ingredients except coconut oil and form into meatballs. Heat coconut oil in skillet and brown meatballs on all sides. Add to slow cooker. Cook on low 4 hrs.

Sweet Potato Wedges:

4 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced into thin wedges

1/2 cup water

4 Tbsp. coconut oil, melted

salt and pepper

onion powder

cayenne powder

Put potatoes in slow cooker. Add water and drizzle with coconut oil. Cook on low 4-5 hours. For last 30 minutes, prop open the lid with a wooden spoon to help brown potatoes. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and some onion powder or cayenne before serving.

FRIDAY: SB&J Burgers and Carrot Fries

Kid #1 also picked out Friday’s dinner. These burgers look ridiculous. We all love burgers. And PB&J. The thought of combining them is more than my brain can handle. Can’t wait to try them! And thanks to my awesome Sister-in-Law for sending my the carrot fries recipe. They look awesome!

Ok. I’m sorry for being a slacker this week. I promise next week will be better. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

