Snow Day!

SNOW DAY!!!!!!!!! I love an unexpected snow day! The kids and I just got back from sledding at this amazing hill in the neighborhood behind ours. It’s enormous and was packed with half our school district. I actually forgot how much fun sledding is! We had a blast!

Yesterday, I planned out all the week’s meals and did the grocery shopping while Hubs took the kids to see the new Sponge Bob movie. Whew – dodged a bullet there! That movie looks terrible and I don’t even let my kids watch Sponge Bob usually but there weren’t any other options. Apparently it was just as bad as it looked. Even kid #1, who loves all movies, said it wasn’t good. So glad I missed it!

Because of the impending snowstorm, both grocery stores I went to were complete mayhem. Wall to wall people with carts filled up like they are expecting the apocalypse. It took me forever!It didn’t help that it started snowing pretty hard while I was out and drivers around here are crazy with snow.

When I got home, I made up a batch of granola from the A Girl Worth Saving blog. This was the first time I’ve made it and I seriously cannot stop eating it. It’s SO good. I originally made it to use in the Berry Parfaits that we had for dessert last night from her cookbook, Paleo Eats. The granola was a winner but nobody really liked the texture of the panna cotta in the parfaits. It called for gelatin which made it rubbery. The flavor was good though so maybe we’ll try again and modify the amount of gelatin next time. Or use something else to thicken it? I don’t know. But definitely try that granola. I’m eating by the handful as I type. Delish!

MONDAY:  For dinner last night, we had Turkey and Cranberry meatballs. These were from the Well Fed 2 cookbook. Meh. They were just ok. They all got eaten but nobody was super excited about them. Not a favorite and not sure I’d make them again. We had them with mashed sweet potatoes and roasted zucchini.

TUESDAY: Bacon Onion Roast in the slow cooker, roasted brussels sprouts and potatoes

If the smell of my house is any indication, this one is going to be a winner! It’s from the Make Ahead Paleo cookbook. Let’s go…

Ingredients:

7 slices bacon, chopped

salt

pepper

3-4 lb. chuck roast

2 medium yellow onions, sliced thin

1/2 cup red wine

3 cups beef stock

3 cloves garlic, minced

Cook the bacon in a skillet. Remove bacon, leaving grease in the pan. Add roast to the pan and brown on both sides. Remove and put in slow cooker. Add onions to bacon grease and cook until translucent, about 5 minutes. Add to the slow cooker. Pour wine into the skillet to loosen all the brown bits in the bottom. Add the stock and the garlic. Pour the wine/stock/garlic mixture over the beef and onions. Cover and cook on low 7-8 hours. Serve topped with crumbled bacon.

For the roasted potatoes and Brussels sprouts, I just boiled them separately. The sprouts for 4 minutes and the potatoes until they were fork-tender. I used baby fingerling potatoes. Then I chopped the spouts in quarters and tossed them in a baking dish with the potatoes, olive oil, salt, pepper, a couple spoonfuls of the crumbled bacon and some thyme. Before we have dinner, I will throw them in 425 degree oven for 20 minutes or so until they are hot and turning golden brown.

WEDNESDAY: Orange Sesame Ginger Pork Roast, Roasted Cauliflower and Cinnamon Pineapple

The pork is also from the Make Ahead Paleo cookbook. It looks delicious.

Ingredients:

4-5 lb. pork roast

1 tsp. sea salt

fresh black pepper

1 tsp. dry mustard

2 Tbsp. coconut oil

Sauce ingredients:

1/2 cup orange juice

1 cup beef or chicken broth

2 Tbsp. fresh ginger, grated

1 Tbsp. orange zest

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tsp. sesame oil

2 Tbsp. coconut aminos (like soy sauce)

1 Tbsp. sesame seeds

2 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar

Sprinkle the roast with salt, pepper and mustard. Melt the coconut oil in a skillet and add the roast to brown on all sides before adding to the slow cooker. Combine the rest of the ingredients and pour over the roast. Cook on low 6-8 hours.

For the Cinnamon Pineapple, I just put some coconut oil in a pan. Maybe a few tablespoons? Throw in a bag of frozen pineapple chunks. Sprinkle heavily with cinnamon and cook until it gets all caramelized and the juice gets all thick and syrupy. It makes a great side but also a wonderful ice cream topping. 🙂

THURSDAY: Chinese 5-Spice Ribs and some fresh green beans

These are making a repeat performance already because they were just that good. I might need another job to support my new rib habit. I’m drooling all over my laptop just thinking about these.

FRIDAY:  Creamy Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken “Pasta”

This is a new recipe that I found on the PaleOMG blog that looks amazing. Can’t wait to try it! I love sun dried tomatoes! Yum!

Ok, that’s what we’re up to this week. Lots of crock pot meals…shocking, right? Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

